Skip Navigation

Documentation of Soil Attributes is Critical for Understanding Vegetation (Robert Peet Lab)

Text:
Increase font size
Decrease font size

Faculty

This Faculty Directory page displays an alphabetical list of the entire faculty of the Biology Department at UNC, including research faculty, lecturers, and emeritus professors.  To view directories of the research faculty, subdivided into areas of research strength, visit the Research Area of our website.

Jump to: A|B|C|D|F|G|H|J|K|L|M|N|P|R|S|T|U|V|W|Y

NameContact InfoResearch Description
Shawn Ahmed
Professor
216 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-4780
shawn@med.unc.edu
Telomere replication and germ cell immortality
Albert S. Baldwin
Kenan Professor
22-000 Lineberger Cancer Center
(919) 966-3652
abaldwin@med.unc.edu
Regulation of gene expression, and control of oncogenesis and apoptosis.
Edward G. Barry
Professor (Emeritus)
439 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-6933
Cytogenetics of Neurospora
Victoria L. Bautch
Beverly Long Chapin Distinguished Professor and Chair of Biology
415 Fordham Hall
205 Coker Hall (Chair)
(919) 966-6797
bautch@med.unc.edu
Animal Models of Vascular Development and Endothelial Cell Biology
Kerry S. Bloom
Thad L. Beyle Distinguished Professor
623 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-1182
kerry_bloom@unc.edu
Molecular Biology; Chromosome and Spindle Dynamics
John Bruno
Professor
335 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-1038 (Office)
jbruno@unc.edu
Marine and Climate Change Ecology
Christina Burch
Associate Professor
3163 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4445
cburch@bio.unc.edu
Experimental Evolution of Viruses
Sabrina Burmeister
Associate Professor
230 Wilson Hall
(919)-843-5105
sburmeister [at] unc.edu
Neurobiology & behavior
Jennifer Coble
Lecturer
110 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-3705
jcoble@bio.unc.edu
Curriculum and Instruction
Frank Conlon
Professor
220 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-5500
frank_conlon@med.unc.edu
Developmental Genetics
Gregory P. Copenhaver
Associate Professor
4161 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4457
gcopenhaver at bio.unc.edu
Genetics
Stephen Crews
Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics, Adjunct Professor of Biology
321 Fordham Hall
(919) 423-8236
steve_crews@unc.edu
Drosophila Nervous System Development; Gene Regulation
Jeff Dangl
John N. Couch Professor
4260 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4469
dangl@email.unc.edu
Plant Genetics and Cellular Biology; Plant Disease Resistance and Plant Metagenomics
Jean S. DeSaix
Teaching Professor
302 Coker Hall
(919) 962-1068
jdesaix@email.unc.edu
Curriculum and Instruction
Robert J. Duronio
Professor
3350 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4568
duronio@med.unc.edu
Developmental control of the cell cycle
Alan Feduccia
S. K. Heninger Distinguished Professor (Emeritus)
216 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-3050
feduccia@bio.unc.edu
Avian Evolution, Paleobiology and Systematics
Terry Furey
Assistant Professor
5022 Genetic Medicine Building
(919) 966-7033
tsfurey@unc.edu
Genetics of gene regulation in complex traits; Computational genomics; Chromatin biology
Paul Gabrielson
Adjunct Assistant Professor
4244 Genome Sciences Building

drseaweed@hotmail.com
Biodiversity and Biogeography of Marine Algae (seaweeds)
Patricia G. Gensel
Professor
414 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6937
pgensel@bio.unc.edu
Paleobotany
Lawrence I. Gilbert
Professor (Emeritus)
137 Wilson Hall
(919) 966-2055
lgilbert@unc.edu
Insect Endocrinology, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Bob Goldstein
Professor
616 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-8575
bobg@unc.edu
Cell Polarity, Morphogenesis, and Evolution of Development
Sarah R. Grant
Research Associate Professor
4258 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4470
sgrant@email.unc.edu
The suite of pathogenicity factors in Pseudomonas syringae
Albert K. Harris
Professor
103 Wilson Hall
(919) 966-1230
akharris@bio.unc.edu
Cell Motility & Pattern Formation
Tyson L. Hedrick
Associate Professor
G40 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-0757
thedrick@email.unc.edu
Biomechanics and Animal Locomotion
Kelly A. Hogan
Senior STEM Lecturer
104B Wilson Hall
(919) 843-6047
leek@email.unc.edu
Curriculum and Instruction: Inclusive learning in large STEM courses
Max H. Hommersand
Professor (Emeritus)
407 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6938
hommersand@bio.unc.edu
Morphology; Systematics and Biology of the Marine Algae
Allen Hurlbert
Assistant Professor
331 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-9930
hurlbert@bio.unc.edu
Biodiversity, biogeography, and macroecology
Corey Johnson
Senior Lecturer
104A Wilson Hall
(919) 843-6962
johnsonc@bio.unc.edu
Curriculum and Instruction: Vertebrate Morphology and Morphogenesis, Human Anatomy & Physiology
Alan M. Jones
Kenan Distinguished Professor
312 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6932
alan_jones@unc.edu
Signal Perception and the Regulation of Growth and Development
Corbin Jones
Associate Professor
3159 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4443
cdjones@email.unc.edu
Evolutionary Genetics and Genomics
Joseph Kieber
Professor
4163 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4455
jkieber@bio.unc.edu
Molecular Genetic Analysis of Ethylene and Cytokinin Action in Arabidopsis
William M. Kier
Professor
313B Wilson Hall (Lab)
(919) 962-5017 (Lab Office)
billkier@bio.unc.edu
Biomechanics of marine invertebrates and musculoskeletal systems
Joel G. Kingsolver
Kenan Distinguished Professor
334A Wilson Hall
(919) 843-6291
jgking@bio.unc.edu
Evolutionary and physiological ecology
Alain Laederach
Assistant Professor
3354 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4565
alain@unc.edu
Disease-associated mutations and their effect on RNA Structure
Catherine Lohmann
Lecturer
402 Coker Hall
(919) 962-3216
clohmann@email.unc.edu
Behavior, Neuroscience, Sensory Biology, and Conservation of Marine Animals
Kenneth J. Lohmann
Charles P. Postelle, Jr. Distinguished Professor
403 Coker Hall
(919) 843-4508
klohmann@email.unc.edu
Behavior, Neuroscience, Sensory Ecology, and Conservation Biology of Marine Animals
Amy Shaub Maddox
Assistant Professor
408 Fordham Hall
919-843-3228
asm@unc.edu
Cytoskeletal Dynamics and Cell Division
Paul Maddox
Assistant Professor
4358 Genome Sciences Building
919-843-8637
pmaddox@unc.edu
Mitotic Mechanisms and Chromosome Dynamics
Gustavo Maroni
Professor (Emeritus)
G015D Steele Building
(919) 929-8863
gmaroni@unc.edu
Gene Organization and Expression in Drosophila
William F. Marzluff
William Rand Kenan Professor
208 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-2140
marzluff@med.unc.edu
Regulation of RNA Metabolism in Animal Cells
Gregory Matera
Professor & Associate Chair of Biology
3352 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4567
matera@unc.edu
RNA Processing: Biogenesis of Small Ribonucleoproteins in Health and Disease
Steven W. Matson
Professor
Dean of The Graduate School
315 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-0005
smatson@bio.unc.edu
DNA Helicases in Nucleic Acid Metabolism
Ann G. Matthysse
Professor
304 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6941
ann_matthysse@unc.edu
Initial Interactions between bacterial plant pathogens and host cells
Daniel Matute
Assistant Professor
3161 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4442
dmatute@email.unc.edu
Evolutionary Biology
Daniel J. McKay
Assistant Professor, Biology Department and Genetics Department
3358 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-2064
dmckay1@email.unc.edu
Developmental Genomics
Laura Miller
Associate Professor of Biology and Mathematics
G44A Wilson Hall
(919) 843-4557
lam9@unc.edu
Biological Fluid Dynamics
Marine Invertebrate Zoology
Mathematical Biology
Donald W. Misch
Associate Professor (Emeritus)
135 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-3751
mischplace@mindspring.com
Charles E. Mitchell
Associate Professor
411 Coker Hall
(919) 843-7745
mitchell@bio.unc.edu
Disease Ecology
Helmut C. Mueller
Professor (Emeritus)
304 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-3059
hmueller@email.unc.edu
Punita Nagpal
Research Assistant Professor
318 Coker Hall
(919) 843-4027
punita@email.unc.edu
Plant Signal Transduction and Development
Clifford R. Parks
Professor (Emeritus)

(919) 962-6944
cparks@bio.unc.edu
Species Structure and Evolution
Robert K. Peet
Professor
413 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6942
peet@unc.edu
Plant Ecology, Plant Geography, EcoInformatics
Mark Peifer
Michael Hooker Distinguished Professor
521 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-2271
peifer@unc.edu
Cell adhesion, signal transduction, and cytoskeletal regulation in development and disease
Charles H. Peterson
Professor (Marine Sciences)
Institute of Marine Sciences
(252) 726-6841
cpeters@email.unc.edu
Interdisciplinary Marine Conservation Ecology
David W. Pfennig
Caroline H. and Thomas S. Royster Distinguished Professor
320 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-6958
dpfennig [at] unc [dot] edu
Evolutionary Biology and Ecology
Karin Pfennig
Associate Professor & Associate Chair of Biology
319 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-5590
kpfennig@email.unc.edu
Ecology, Behavior, and Evolution
Patricia J. Pukkila
Professor (Emerita)
201 Fordham Hall
919-967-4476
pukkila@unc.edu
Controlling Events in Meiosis
Jason W. Reed
Associate Professor
305 Coker Hall
(919) 962-5640
jreed@email.unc.edu
Plant Signal Transduction and Development
Seth R. Reice
Associate Professor (Emeritus)
244 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-1375
sreice@bio.unc.edu
Stream Community and Ecosystem Ecology
Steve Rogers
Associate Professor
422 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-7342
srogers@bio.unc.edu
Cell Biology of the Cytoskeleton, Cell Migration, and Morphogenesis
Brian J. Rybarczyk
Lecturer
101 Graduate Student Center
(919) 962-2505
brybar@unc.edu
Edward D. Salmon
Research Professor (Retired James Larkin and Iona Mae Ballou Distinguished Professor)
608 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-2265
tsalmon@email.unc.edu
Microtubule Assembly, Microtubule Motors, and The Mechanism of Chromosome Movement
Tom K. Scott
Professor (Emeritus)
135 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-3701
tscott@unc.edu
Growth and Development of Higher Plants
Lillie L. Searles
Associate Professor
508 Fordham Hall
(919) 966-4989
lsearles@email.unc.edu
Regulation of nuclear RNA degradation/RNA quality control
Jeff Sekelsky
Professor
303 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-9400
sekelsky@unc.edu
DNA Repair and Recombination
Maria R. Servedio
Professor
234A Wilson Hall
(919) 843-2692
servedio@email.unc.edu
Evolutionary Theory
Elizabeth Shank
Assistant Professor
4157 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4459
eshank@unc.edu
Chemically mediated interactions between microbes
Gidi Shemer
Lecturer/Advisor
213A Coker Hall
(919) 962-0684
bishemer@email.unc.edu
Advising, Curriculum and Instruction
Kevin Slep
Associate Professor
402 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-4858
KSlep@bio.unc.edu
Cytoskeletal Structure and Dynamics
Keith W. Sockman
Associate Professor
G43 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-1989
kws@unc.edu
Behavioral, Physiological, and Neuro-Ecology
Darrel W. Stafford
Professor
442 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-0597
dws@email.unc.edu
Molecular Biology
Barbara Stegenga
Teaching Lab Supervisor
211 Coker Hall
(919) 966-3180
bstegenga@bio.unc.edu
Curriculum and Instruction, Student Advising
Blaire Steinwand
STEM Lecturer
212 Coker Hall

blairejs@email.unc.edu
Curriculum and Instruction
Alan E. Stiven
Professor (Emeritus)
429 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-8316
alan_stiven@unc.edu
Population Biology and Community Ecology
David Straight
Research Assistant Professor (Emeritus)

(919) 962-2267
davids@email.unc.edu
Jian-Ke Tie
Research Assistant Professor
446 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-2267
jktie@email.unc.edu
James Umbanhowar
Research Assistant Professor
210 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-7107
jumbanho@email.unc.edu
Population and Community Ecology; Mathematical Biology
Todd J. Vision
Associate Professor
3155 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4479
tjv@bio.unc.edu
Computational genetics, genome evolution and the architecture of complex traits
Alan S. Weakley
Adjunct Assistant Professor; Director, UNC Herbarium
419 Coker Hall
(919) 619-1101
weakley@unc.edu
Plant Systematics, Floristics, Biogeography, Conservation Planning, Bioinformatics, Vegetation Classification and Mapping
Peter S. White
Professor; Director, NC Botanical Garden
406 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6939 (Biology)
peter.white@unc.edu
Plant Community Ecology, Conservation Biology, Biodiversity
R. Haven Wiley
Professor (Emeritus)
323 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-1340
haven_wiley@unc.edu
Animal Behavior, Communication, and Social Organization
Christopher S. Willett
Research Associate Professor
235 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-8663
willett4@email.unc.edu
Molecular population and evolutionary genetics
Elaine Yeh
Research Associate Professor
603 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-2331
elaine_yeh@unc.edu
Nuclear division in yeast: cell cycle control; microtubule motor proteins and the cytoskeleton.