Developmental biologists address the mechanisms through which cells acquire specialized functions to elicit complex body plans. These features are accomplished in part through cell proliferation, migration, and shape changes. Our department has a strong research program in these and other areas of developmental biology.

Explore the labs of Biology faculty who focus their research in developmental biology:

Ahmed, Shawn
Professor
216 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-4780
shawn@med.unc.edu

Research interests: Telomere biology and germ cell immortality
READ MORE


Bautch, Victoria L.
Beverly Long Chapin Distinguished Professor
415 Fordham Hall
(919) 966-6797
bautch@med.unc.edu

Research interests: Animal Models of Vascular Development and Endothelial Cell Biology
READ MORE


Conlon, Frank
Professor
220 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-5500
frank_conlon@med.unc.edu

Research interests: Developmental Genetics
READ MORE


Crews, Stephen
Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics, Adjunct Professor of Biology
2256 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 423-8236
steve_crews@unc.edu

Research interests: Drosophila Nervous System Development; Gene Regulation
READ MORE


Dowen, Rob
Assistant Professor
321 Fordham Hall
858-736-6579
dowen@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Regulation of fat metabolism during development, aging, and disease
READ MORE


Duronio, Robert J.
Professor
Director of the Integrative Program for Biological and Genome Sciences

3350 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4568
duronio@med.unc.edu

Research interests: Epigenetic control of the cell cycle during animal development
READ MORE


Goldstein, Bob
James L. Peacock III Distinguished Professor
616 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-8575
bobg@unc.edu

Research interests: Cell Biology of Development, Evolution of Development, Tolerance of Extremes
READ MORE


Harris, Albert K.
Professor
103 Wilson Hall
(919) 966-1230
akharris@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Cell Motility & Pattern Formation
READ MORE


Kieber, Joseph
Kenan Distinguished Professor
4163 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4455
jkieber@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Molecular Genetic Analysis of Ethylene and Cytokinin Action in Arabidopsis
READ MORE


Maddox, Amy Shaub
Associate Professor
408 Fordham Hall
919-843-3228
asm@unc.edu

Research interests: Cytoskeletal Dynamics and Cell Division
READ MORE


Marzluff, William F.
William Rand Kenan Professor
208 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-2140
marzluff@med.unc.edu

Research interests: Regulation of RNA Metabolism in Animal Cells
READ MORE


Matera, Gregory
Professor & Associate Chair of Biology
3352 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4567
matera@unc.edu

Research interests: RNA Processing: Biogenesis of Small Ribonucleoproteins in Health and Disease
READ MORE


McKay, Daniel J.
Assistant Professor, Biology Department and Genetics Department
3358 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-2064
dmckay1@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Developmental Genomics
READ MORE


Nimchuk, Zachary
Assistant Professor
4155 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4460
zackn@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Plant developmental genetics and stem cell regulation
READ MORE


Peifer, Mark
Michael Hooker Distinguished Professor
521 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-2271
peifer@unc.edu

Research interests: Cell adhesion, signal transduction, and cytoskeletal regulation in development and disease
READ MORE


Reed, Jason W.
Associate Professor
305 Coker Hall
(919) 962-5640
jreed@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Signal Transduction and Development
READ MORE


Rogers, Steve
Associate Professor
422 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-7342
srogers@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Cell Biology of the Cytoskeleton, Cell Migration, and Morphogenesis
READ MORE


Shank, Elizabeth
Associate Professor
4157 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4459
eshank@unc.edu

Research interests: Chemically mediated interactions between microbes
READ MORE


Shiau, Celia
Assistant Professor
4352 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-7010
shiauce@unc.edu

Research interests: Crosstalk between immune and nervous systems; macrophages and microglia; immune activation and inflammation; vertebrate development
READ MORE


Williams, Scott
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Biology Department
605A Brinkhous-Bullitt Building
(919) 966-2737
scott_williams@med.unc.edu

Research interests: Developmental and stem cell biology of epithelia; asymmetric cell division
READ MORE