Skip to main content

Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most honored college honorary society, inducted 259 University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill students as new members. Less than 1% of all college students qualify for acceptance.

Past and present Phi Beta Kappa members from across the country include 17 American presidents, 42 U.S. Supreme Court Justices, more than 150 Nobel Laureates, and numerous artistic, intellectual, and political leaders.

Phi Beta Kappa membership is open to undergraduates in the College of Arts & Sciences and professional degree programs who meet stringent eligibility requirements. A student who has completed 75 hours of course work in the liberal arts and sciences with a GPA of 3.85 or better (on a 4-point scale) is eligible for membership. Also eligible is any student who has completed 105 hours of course work in the liberal arts and sciences with a 3.75 GPA. Grades earned at other universities are not considered.

Congratulations to all of the new inductees, listed alphabetically:

Malika Amoruso
Numair Attaar
Aryaman Bana (biology minor)
Elizabeth Bennett
Sarah Broyhill
Olivia Grace Cassidy
Christina Elizabeth Georgiou
Maya Groff (biology minor)
Arwen Helms
John Edgar Hinkle
Rachel Caroline Hodakowski
Joanna Nithila Jeychandran
Anna (Huizi) Jin
Andrew Kay
Sarah Tova Kirsh
You-Wei Lai (biology minor)
Jessica Grace Lee
Tiffanie Ann Lee
Abigail Caroline Lehr
Madeline Loops
Matthew Lu
Aarav Mehta
Ethan Joshua Meyerhoffer
Anika Mittal
Erik David Norloff
Torin Kathleen O’Brien
Yesha Patel
Alexander Orion Prakken
Thomas Robert Reinhardt
Taner Allen Richards
Yingning Sang
Kaylee Alexis Scott
Ethan Kim Severson
Ahmed Shezad
Brett Rutledge Smith Jr.
Rachel Elizabeth Turner
Olivia White
Leah Rebecca Whitfield

Comments are closed.