Skip to main content

Ahmed, Shawn
Professor
216 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-4780
shawn@med.unc.edu

Research interests: Telomere biology and germ cell immortality
READ MORE


Baldwin, Albert S., Jr.
William Rand Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor
22-000 Lineberger Cancer Center
(919) 966-3652
abaldwin@med.unc.edu

Research interests: Regulation of gene expression, and control of oncogenesis and apoptosis.
READ MORE


Barry, Edward G.
Professor (Emeritus)
439 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-6933

Research interests:
READ MORE


Bautch, Victoria L.
Beverly Long Chapin Distinguished Professor
415 Fordham Hall
(919) 966-6797
bautch@med.unc.edu

Research interests: Animal Models of Vascular Development and Endothelial Cell Biology
READ MORE


Bloom, Kerry S.
Chair of Biology
Thad L. Beyle Distinguished Professor

623 Fordham Hall
205 Coker Hall (Chair)
(919) 962-1182
kerry_bloom@unc.edu

Research interests: Molecular Biology; Chromosome and Spindle Dynamics
READ MORE


Bruno, John
Professor
340 Wilson Hall

jbruno@unc.edu

Research interests: Marine and Climate Change Ecology
READ MORE


Burch, Christina
Professor
3163 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4445
cburch@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Experimental Evolution of Viruses
READ MORE


Burmeister, Sabrina
Professor
316 Wilson Hall
(919)-843-5105
sburmeister@unc.edu

Research interests: Neurobiology & behavior
READ MORE


Conlon, Frank
Professor
220 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-5500
frank_conlon@med.unc.edu

Research interests: Developmental Genetics
READ MORE


Copenhaver, Gregory P.
Chancellor's Eminent Professor of Convergent Science
Associate Dean of Research & Innovation

4161 Genome Sciences Building

gcopenhaver@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Genetics
READ MORE


Costa, James
Adjunct Professor
Director, Highlands Biological Station



costa@email.wcu.edu

Research interests:
READ MORE


Crews, Stephen
Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics, Adjunct Professor of Biology
2151 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 423-8236
steve_crews@unc.edu

Research interests: Drosophila Nervous System Development; Gene Regulation
READ MORE


Dangl, Jeff
HHMI Investigator and John N. Couch Professor
4260 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4469
dangl@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Plant and Pathogen Genetics, Genomics and Cell Biology, Plant Disease Resistance and Plant Metagenomics
READ MORE


DeSaix, Jean S.
Teaching Professor
302 Coker Hall
(919) 929-1580
jdesaix@email.unc.edu

Research interests:
READ MORE


Dickerson, Brad
Assistant Professor
Kenan Honors Fellow

2157 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-0703
bdicker@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Neuromechanics of gyroscopic sensing
READ MORE


Dowen, Jill
Assistant Professor, Biochemistry and Biophysics Department, Biology Department
3360 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-8132
jilldowen@unc.edu

Research interests: Three-dimensional genome architecture and gene regulation in development and disease
READ MORE


Dowen, Rob
Assistant Professor
321 Fordham Hall
858-736-6579
dowen@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Regulation of fat metabolism during development, aging, and disease
READ MORE


Duronio, Robert J.
Professor
Director of the Integrative Program for Biological and Genome Sciences

3350 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4568
duronio@med.unc.edu

Research interests: Epigenetic control of the cell cycle during animal development
READ MORE


Evans, Mara
STEM Teaching Associate Professor
104A Wilson Hall
(919) 843-7107
mara1@email.unc.edu

Research interests:
READ MORE


Feduccia, Alan
S. K. Heninger Distinguished Professor (Emeritus)
216 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-3050
feduccia@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Avian Evolution, Paleobiology and Systematics
READ MORE


Fodrie, F. Joel
Adjunct Associate Professor, Biology Department
157 Coker Hall, 3431 Arendell Street, Morehead CIty, NC
(252) 726-6841 ext. 149
jfodrie@unc.edu

Research interests: Coastal Biological Oceanography
READ MORE


Furey, Terry
Professor
5022 Genetic Medicine Building
(919) 966-7033
tsfurey@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Genetics of gene regulation in complex traits; Computational genomics; Chromatin biology; Crohn's disease; Environmental toxicogenomics
READ MORE


Gabrielson, Paul
Adjunct Assistant Professor
3144 Genome Sciences Building

drseaweed@hotmail.com

Research interests: Biodiversity and Biogeography of Marine Algae (seaweeds)
READ MORE


Garland, Alaina
Teaching Assistant Professor
135 Wilson Hall

agarland@email.unc.edu

Research interests:
READ MORE


Gensel, Patricia G.
Professor
414 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6937
pgensel@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Paleobotany
READ MORE


Gladfelter, Amy
Professor
Associate Chair, Diversity and Inclusion

2412 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-7299
amyglad@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Cytoskeleton dynamics, biophysical cell biology, cytoplasm organization
READ MORE


Goldstein, Bob
James L. Peacock III Distinguished Professor
616 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-8575
bobg@unc.edu

Research interests: Cell Biology of Development, Evolution of Development, Tolerance of Extremes
READ MORE


Gordon, Kacy
Assistant Professor
Lab 316 Fordham, Office 315
(919)962-2164
kacy.gordon@unc.edu

Research interests: Duplicate gene function in the germ line stem cell niche
READ MORE


Grant, Sarah R.
Research Professor (Emeritus)
4258 Genome Sciences Building

sgrant@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Plant-Microbe Interactions
READ MORE


Harris, Albert K.
Professor
103 Wilson Hall

akharris@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Cell Motility & Pattern Formation
READ MORE


Hastie, Eric
Teaching Assistant Professor
235 Wilson Hall

ehastie@email.unc.edu

Research interests:
READ MORE


Hedrick, Tyson L.
Professor
301 Coker Hall
(919) 962-0757
thedrick@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Biomechanics and Animal Locomotion
READ MORE


Hige, Toshihide
Assistant Professor
3157 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4736
hige@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Neurophysiology and Behavior in Drosophila
READ MORE


Hogan, Kelly A.
STEM Teaching Professor
Associate Dean of Instructional Innovation, College of Arts & Sciences

104B Wilson Hall

kelly_hogan@unc.edu

Research interests: Curriculum and Instruction: Inclusive learning in large STEM courses
READ MORE


Hommersand, Max H.
Professor (Emeritus)
407 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6938
hommersand@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Morphology; Systematics and Biogeography of the Marine Algae
READ MORE


Hurlbert, Allen
Professor
331 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-9930
hurlbert@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Biodiversity, Biogeography, Macroecology
READ MORE


Johnson, Corey
Teaching Professor
Associate Chair, Academic Affairs

210 Wilson Hall

johnsonc@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Curriculum and Instruction
READ MORE


Jones, Alan M.
Kenan Distinguished Professor
312 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6932
alan_jones@unc.edu

Research interests: Signal Perception and the Regulation of Growth and Development
READ MORE


Jones, Corbin
Professor
3159 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4443
cdjones@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Evolutionary Genetics and Genomics
READ MORE


Kieber, Joseph
Kenan Distinguished Professor
4163 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4455
jkieber@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Molecular Genetic Analysis of Ethylene and Cytokinin Action in Arabidopsis
READ MORE


Kier, William M.
Professor
313B Wilson Hall (Lab)
(919) 962-5017 (Lab Office)
billkier@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Biomechanics of marine invertebrates and musculoskeletal systems
READ MORE


Kingsolver, Joel G.
Kenan Distinguished Professor
108 Coker Hall
(919) 843-6291
jgking@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Environmental physiology; evolutionary ecology; population biology; climate change
READ MORE


Laederach, Alain
Professor
3354 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4565
alain@unc.edu

Research interests: Disease-associated mutations and their effect on RNA Structure
READ MORE


Lohmann, Catherine
Teaching Assistant Professor
402 Coker Hall
(919) 962-3216
clohmann@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Behavior, Neuroscience, Sensory Biology, and Conservation of Marine Animals
READ MORE


Lohmann, Kenneth J.
Charles P. Postelle, Jr. Distinguished Professor
403 Coker Hall
(919) 843-4508
klohmann@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Behavior, Neuroscience, Sensory Ecology, and Conservation Biology of Marine Animals
READ MORE


Maddox, Amy Shaub
Professor
408 Fordham Hall
919-843-3228
asm@unc.edu

Research interests: Cytoskeletal Dynamics and Cell Division
READ MORE


Maddox, Paul
Associate Professor
William Burwell Harrison Scholar

307 Fordham Hall
919-843-8637
pmaddox@unc.edu

Research interests: Mitotic Mechanisms and Chromosome Dynamics
READ MORE


Maroni, Gustavo
Professor (Emeritus); Biology Advisor
G015D Steele Building
(919) 929-8863
gmaroni@unc.edu

Research interests: Gene Organization and Expression in Drosophila
READ MORE


Marzluff, William F.
William Rand Kenan Professor
208 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-2140
marzluff@med.unc.edu

Research interests: Regulation of RNA Metabolism in Animal Cells
READ MORE


Matera, Gregory
Professor
3352 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4567
matera@unc.edu

Research interests: RNA Processing: Biogenesis of Small Ribonucleoproteins in Health and Disease
READ MORE


Matson, Steven W.
Professor
502 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-0005
smatson@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: DNA Helicases in Nucleic Acid Metabolism
READ MORE


Matthysse, Ann G.
Professor
304 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6941
ann_matthysse@unc.edu

Research interests: Genetics and mechanisms of the interactions of bacteria with plant surfaces
READ MORE


Matute, Daniel
Associate Professor
3161 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4442
dmatute@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Evolutionary Biology
READ MORE


McCoy, Sophie
Assistant Professor
334 Wilson Hall

sophie.mccoy@unc.edu

Research interests: Community Ecology, Microbial Ecology, Marine and Aquatic Systems
READ MORE


McKay, Daniel J.
Associate Professor, Biology Department and Genetics Department
3358 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-2064
dmckay1@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Developmental Genomics
READ MORE


Mitchell, Charles E.
Professor
411 Coker Hall

mitchell@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Disease Ecology, Plant-Microbe Interactions, Community Ecology
READ MORE


Nagpal, Punita
Research Assistant Professor
318 Coker Hall
(919) 843-4027
punita@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Signal Transduction and Development
READ MORE


Nimchuk, Zachary
Associate Professor
4155 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4460
zackn@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Plant developmental genetics and stem cell regulation
READ MORE


Ott, Laura
Teaching Assistant Professor
104A Wilson Hall

leott@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Curriculum and instruction, assessment, inclusive learning strategies
READ MORE


Peet, Robert K.
Research Professor
413 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6942
peet@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Ecology, Plant Geography, EcoInformatics
READ MORE


Peifer, Mark
Michael Hooker Distinguished Professor
521 Fordham Hall

peifer@unc.edu

Research interests: Cell adhesion, signal transduction, and cytoskeletal regulation in development and disease
READ MORE


Pfennig, David W.
Professor
320 Wilson Hall

dpfennig@unc.edu

Research interests: Evolution, Ecology, Developmental Biology
READ MORE


Pfennig, Karin
Professor
319 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-5590
kpfennig@unc.edu

Research interests: Ecology, Behavior, and Evolution
READ MORE


Reed, Jason W.
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies

305 Coker Hall
(919) 962-5640
jreed@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Signal Transduction and Development
READ MORE


Rogers, Steve
Associate Professor
422 Fordham Hall

srogers@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Cell Biology of the Cytoskeleton, Cell Migration, and Morphogenesis
READ MORE


Salmon, Edward D.
Research Professor (Retired James Larkin and Iona Mae Ballou Distinguished Professor)
608 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-2265
tsalmon@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Microscopy, Microtubule Assembly, Microtubule Motors, and The Mechanism of Chromosome Movement
READ MORE


Searles, Lillie L.
Professor Emeritus
508 Fordham Hall
(919) 966-4989
lsearles@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Regulation of nuclear RNA degradation/RNA quality control
READ MORE


Sekelsky, Jeff
Professor
303 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-9400
sekelsky@unc.edu

Research interests: DNA Repair and Recombination
READ MORE


Septer, Alecia
Adjunct Associate Professor
4202C Venable/Murray Hall
(919) 843-3410
asepter@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Interbacterial interactions affecting community structure and function; Genetic determinants of bacterial social interactions; Marine host-microbe interactions
READ MORE


Servedio, Maria R.
Professor
404 Coker Hall
(919) 843-2692
servedio@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Evolutionary Theory
READ MORE


Shemer, Gidi
Teaching Professor/Advisor
213A Coker Hall

bishemer@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Advising, Curriculum and Instruction
READ MORE


Shiau, Celia
Assistant Professor
4352 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-7010
shiauce@unc.edu

Research interests: Crosstalk between immune and nervous systems; macrophages and microglia; immune activation and inflammation; vertebrate development
READ MORE


Slep, Kevin
Associate Professor
402 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-4858
KSlep@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Cytoskeletal Structure and Dynamics
READ MORE


Sockman, Keith W.
Associate Professor
228 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-1989

Research interests: Behavioral and Physiological Ecology
READ MORE


Stafford, Darrel W.
Professor
442 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-0597
dws@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Molecular Biology
READ MORE


Stegenga, Barbara
Teaching Lab Supervisor
211 Coker Hall

bstegenga@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Curriculum and Instruction, Student Advising
READ MORE


Stiven, Alan E.
Professor (Emeritus)
429 Wilson Hall

alan_stiven[at]unc.edu

Research interests:
READ MORE


Stuart, Bryan
Adjunct Associate Professor, Biology Department
318 Wilson Hall
(919) 707-8861
bryan.stuart@naturalsciences.org

Research interests: Biodiversity, systematics, and conservation of amphibians and reptiles
READ MORE


Taylor, Brian
Assistant Professor
Coker 301A
919-962-8508
bkt2@live.unc.edu

Research interests: Animal Magnetoreception and Navigation; Robotics; Bio-Engineering
READ MORE


Tie, Jian-Ke
Research Associate Professor
438 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-2267
jktie@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Structure-function study of enzymes in the vitamin K cycle
READ MORE


Umbanhowar, James
Research Assistant Professor
335 Wilson Hall

jumbanho@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Population and Community Ecology; Mathematical Biology
READ MORE


Vision, Todd J.
Associate Professor
3155 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4479
tjv@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Computational genetics, genome evolution and the architecture of complex traits
READ MORE


Waitt, Damon Edward
Director, NC Botanical Garden; Adjunct Professor of the Practice, Biology
North Carolina Botanical Garden

dwaitt@unc.edu

Research interests: Biodiversity Informatics, Citizen Science, Conservation Biology, Invasive Species, Plant Reproductive Biology
READ MORE


Weakley, Alan S.
Adjunct Associate Professor; Director, UNC Herbarium
419 Coker Hall
(919) 619-1101
weakley@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Systematics, Floristics, Biogeography, Conservation Planning, Bioinformatics, Vegetation Classification and Mapping
READ MORE


Werner, Michael
Research Assistant Professor
407 Fordham Hall

werner@email.unc.edu

Research interests:
READ MORE


White, Peter S.
Professor
406 Coker Hall

peter.white@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Community Ecology, Conservation Biology, Biodiversity
READ MORE


Wiley, R. Haven
Professor (Emeritus)
323 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-1340
haven_wiley@unc.edu

Research interests: Animal Behavior, Communication, and Social Organization
READ MORE


Willett, Christopher S.
Research Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

406 Coker Hall
(919) 843-8663
willett4@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Molecular population and evolutionary genetics
READ MORE


Williams, Scott
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Biology Department
605A Brinkhous-Bullitt Building
(919) 966-2737
scott_williams@med.unc.edu

Research interests: Developmental and stem cell biology of epithelia; asymmetric cell division
READ MORE


Yeh, Elaine
Research Professor
603 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-2331
elaine_yeh@unc.edu

Research interests: Nuclear division in yeast: cell cycle control; microtubule motor proteins and the cytoskeleton.
READ MORE


Zwemer, Lillian
Teaching Assistant Professor
212 Coker Hall

lmzwemer@email.unc.edu

Research interests:
READ MORE