Skip to main content

Researchers in the QBio program probe biological processes with a knowledge base that transcends classical disciplines such as biology, math, computer science and physics. We train our students to investigate how basic physical processes have been brought together in living systems by asking questions that fall into four general categories: mechanics and dynamics; patterns and collective phenomena; transport, signaling and communication; and multiscale processes.

Explore the labs of Biology faculty who include quantititave methods in their research:

Bloom, Kerry S.
Chair of Biology
Thad L. Beyle Distinguished Professor

623 Fordham Hall
205 Coker Hall (Chair)
(919) 962-1182
kerry_bloom@unc.edu

Research interests: Molecular Biology; Chromosome and Spindle Dynamics
READ MORE


Burch, Christina
Professor
3163 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4445
cburch@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Experimental Evolution of Viruses
READ MORE


Dickerson, Brad
Assistant Professor
Kenan Honors Fellow

2157 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-0703
bdicker@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Neuromechanics of gyroscopic sensing
READ MORE


Furey, Terry
Associate Professor
5022 Genetic Medicine Building
(919) 966-7033
tsfurey@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Genetics of gene regulation in complex traits; Computational genomics; Chromatin biology; Crohn's disease; Environmental toxicogenomics
READ MORE


Gladfelter, Amy
Professor
Associate Chair, Diversity and Inclusion

2412 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-7299
amyglad@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Cytoskeleton dynamics, biophysical cell biology, cytoplasm organization
READ MORE


Gordon, Kacy
Assistant Professor
Lab 316 Fordham, Office 315
(919)962-2164
kacy.gordon@unc.edu

Research interests: Duplicate gene function in the germ line stem cell niche
READ MORE


Hedrick, Tyson L.
Professor
301 Coker Hall
(919) 962-0757
thedrick@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Biomechanics and Animal Locomotion
READ MORE


Hige, Toshihide
Assistant Professor
3157 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4736
hige@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Neurophysiology and Behavior in Drosophila
READ MORE


Jones, Alan M.
Kenan Distinguished Professor
312 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6932
alan_jones@unc.edu

Research interests: Signal Perception and the Regulation of Growth and Development
READ MORE


Jones, Corbin
Professor
3159 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4443
cdjones@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Evolutionary Genetics and Genomics
READ MORE


Laederach, Alain
Professor
3354 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4565
alain@unc.edu

Research interests: Disease-associated mutations and their effect on RNA Structure
READ MORE


Lohmann, Catherine
Teaching Assistant Professor
402 Coker Hall
(919) 962-3216
clohmann@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Behavior, Neuroscience, Sensory Biology, and Conservation of Marine Animals
READ MORE


Lohmann, Kenneth J.
Charles P. Postelle, Jr. Distinguished Professor
403 Coker Hall
(919) 843-4508
klohmann@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Behavior, Neuroscience, Sensory Ecology, and Conservation Biology of Marine Animals
READ MORE


Maddox, Amy Shaub
Professor
408 Fordham Hall
919-843-3228
asm@unc.edu

Research interests: Cytoskeletal Dynamics and Cell Division
READ MORE


Maddox, Paul
Associate Professor
William Burwell Harrison Scholar

307 Fordham Hall
919-843-8637
pmaddox@unc.edu

Research interests: Mitotic Mechanisms and Chromosome Dynamics
READ MORE


Matute, Daniel
Associate Professor
3161 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4442
dmatute@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Evolutionary Biology
READ MORE


McKay, Daniel J.
Associate Professor, Biology Department and Genetics Department
3358 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-2064
dmckay1@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Developmental Genomics
READ MORE


Mitchell, Charles E.
Professor
411 Coker Hall

mitchell@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Disease Ecology, Plant-Microbe Interactions, Community Ecology
READ MORE


Servedio, Maria R.
Professor
404 Coker Hall
(919) 843-2692
servedio@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Evolutionary Theory
READ MORE


Shiau, Celia
Assistant Professor
4352 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-7010
shiauce@unc.edu

Research interests: Crosstalk between immune and nervous systems; macrophages and microglia; immune activation and inflammation; vertebrate development
READ MORE


Slep, Kevin
Associate Professor
402 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-4858
KSlep@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Cytoskeletal Structure and Dynamics
READ MORE


Taylor, Brian
Assistant Professor
Coker 301A
919-962-8508
bkt2@live.unc.edu

Research interests: Animal Magnetoreception and Navigation; Robotics; Bio-Engineering
READ MORE


Vision, Todd J.
Associate Professor
3155 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4479
tjv@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Computational genetics, genome evolution and the architecture of complex traits
READ MORE