We have an active and diverse group that studies features specific to plants or that uses plant models to address questions of broad interest, such as host-pathogen interactions, signal transduction, development, and genomics.

Explore the labs of Biology faculty who focus their research in plant biology:

Copenhaver, Gregory P.
Professor
Associate Chair for Development

4161 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4457
gcopenhaver@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Genetics
READ MORE


Dangl, Jeff
HHMI Investigator and John N. Couch Professor
4260 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4469
dangl@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Plant and Pathogen Genetics, Genomics and Cell Biology, Plant Disease Resistance and Plant Metagenomics
READ MORE


Gensel, Patricia G.
Professor
414 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6937
pgensel@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Paleobotany
READ MORE


Grant, Sarah R.
Research Professor
4258 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4470
sgrant@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Plant-Microbe Interactions
READ MORE


Jones, Alan M.
Kenan Distinguished Professor
312 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6932
alan_jones@unc.edu

Research interests: Signal Perception and the Regulation of Growth and Development
READ MORE


Kieber, Joseph
Kenan Distinguished Professor
4163 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4455
jkieber@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Molecular Genetic Analysis of Ethylene and Cytokinin Action in Arabidopsis
READ MORE


Matthysse, Ann G.
Professor
304 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6941
ann_matthysse@unc.edu

Research interests: Genetics and mechanisms of the interactions of bacteria with plant surfaces
READ MORE


Mitchell, Charles E.
Professor
411 Coker Hall
(919) 843-7745
mitchell@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Disease Ecology, Plant-Microbe Interactions, Community Ecology
READ MORE


Nimchuk, Zachary
Assistant Professor
4155 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4460
zackn@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Plant developmental genetics and stem cell regulation
READ MORE


Peet, Robert K.
Research Professor
413 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6942
peet@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Ecology, Plant Geography, EcoInformatics
READ MORE


Reed, Jason W.
Associate Professor
305 Coker Hall
(919) 962-5640
jreed@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Signal Transduction and Development
READ MORE


Vision, Todd J.
Associate Professor
3155 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4479
tjv@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Computational genetics, genome evolution and the architecture of complex traits
READ MORE


Weakley, Alan S.
Adjunct Associate Professor; Director, UNC Herbarium
419 Coker Hall
(919) 619-1101
weakley@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Systematics, Floristics, Biogeography, Conservation Planning, Bioinformatics, Vegetation Classification and Mapping
READ MORE


White, Peter S.
Professor
406 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6939 (Biology)
peter.white@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Community Ecology, Conservation Biology, Biodiversity
READ MORE