Organismal biologists seek to understand the remarkable diversity of life forms on Earth by analyzing organismal structure and function. We take an integrative approach to this research, combining analyses at levels ranging from molecules to whole organisms.

Explore the labs of Biology faculty who focus their research in organismal biology:

Burmeister, Sabrina
Associate Professor
2250 Genome Sciences Building
(919)-843-5105
sburmeister@unc.edu

Research interests: Neurobiology & behavior
READ MORE


Hedrick, Tyson L.
Professor
301 Coker Hall
(919) 962-0757
thedrick@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Biomechanics and Animal Locomotion
READ MORE


Kier, William M.
Professor
313B Wilson Hall (Lab)
(919) 962-5017 (Lab Office)
billkier@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Biomechanics of marine invertebrates and musculoskeletal systems
READ MORE


Kingsolver, Joel G.
Kenan Distinguished Professor
108 Coker Hall
(919) 843-6291
jgking@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Environmental physiology; evolutionary ecology; population biology; climate change
READ MORE


Lohmann, Catherine
Teaching Assistant Professor
402 Coker Hall
(919) 962-3216
clohmann@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Behavior, Neuroscience, Sensory Biology, and Conservation of Marine Animals
READ MORE


Lohmann, Kenneth J.
Charles P. Postelle, Jr. Distinguished Professor
403 Coker Hall
(919) 843-4508
klohmann@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Behavior, Neuroscience, Sensory Ecology, and Conservation Biology of Marine Animals
READ MORE


Miller, Laura
Professor
Coker 301B
(919) 843-4557
lam9@unc.edu

Research interests: Biological Fluid Dynamics, Marine Invertebrate Zoology, and Mathematical Biology
READ MORE


Mitchell, Charles E.
Professor
411 Coker Hall
(919) 843-7745
mitchell@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Disease Ecology, Plant-Microbe Interactions, Community Ecology
READ MORE


Sockman, Keith W.
Associate Professor
228 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-1989

Research interests: Behavioral and Physiological Ecology
READ MORE


Taylor, Brian
Assistant Professor
Coker 301A
919-962-8508
bkt2@live.unc.edu

Research interests: Animal Magnetoreception and Navigation; Robotics; Bio-Engineering
READ MORE


Weakley, Alan S.
Adjunct Associate Professor; Director, UNC Herbarium
419 Coker Hall
(919) 619-1101
weakley@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Systematics, Floristics, Biogeography, Conservation Planning, Bioinformatics, Vegetation Classification and Mapping
READ MORE


White, Peter S.
Professor
406 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6939 (Biology)
peter.white@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Community Ecology, Conservation Biology, Biodiversity
READ MORE


Willett, Christopher S.
Research Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

2252 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-8663
willett4@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Molecular population and evolutionary genetics
READ MORE