Evolution is heritable change in the characteristics of populations over time. Two major goals of evolutionary biology are to explain the incredible fit of organisms to their environment and the origins of diversity. To this end, we investigate the genetic and ecological mechanisms that shape adaptation with a strong focus on processes that contribute to the origins of species.

Explore the labs of Biology faculty who focus their research in evolution:

Burch, Christina
Professor
3163 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4445
cburch@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Experimental Evolution of Viruses
READ MORE


Goldstein, Bob
James L. Peacock III Distinguished Professor
616 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-8575
bobg@unc.edu

Research interests: Cell Biology of Development, Evolution of Development, Tolerance of Extremes
READ MORE


Grant, Sarah R.
Research Professor
4258 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4470
sgrant@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Plant-Microbe Interactions
READ MORE


Hedrick, Tyson L.
Professor
301 Coker Hall
(919) 962-0757
thedrick@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Biomechanics and Animal Locomotion
READ MORE


Hurlbert, Allen
Associate Professor
331 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-9930
hurlbert@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Biodiversity, Biogeography, Macroecology
READ MORE


Jones, Corbin
Professor
3159 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4443
cdjones@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Evolutionary Genetics and Genomics
READ MORE


Kier, William M.
Professor
313B Wilson Hall (Lab)
(919) 962-5017 (Lab Office)
billkier@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Biomechanics of marine invertebrates and musculoskeletal systems
READ MORE


Kingsolver, Joel G.
Kenan Distinguished Professor
108 Coker Hall
(919) 843-6291
jgking@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Environmental physiology; evolutionary ecology; population biology; climate change
READ MORE


Matute, Daniel
Assistant Professor
3161 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4442
dmatute@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Evolutionary Biology
READ MORE


Pfennig, David W.
Professor
320 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-0155
dpfennig@unc.edu

Research interests: Evolution, Ecology, and Developmental Biology
READ MORE


Pfennig, Karin
Professor
319 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-5590
kpfennig@unc.edu

Research interests: Ecology, Behavior, and Evolution
READ MORE


Servedio, Maria R.
Professor
404 Coker Hall
(919) 843-2692
servedio@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Evolutionary Theory
READ MORE


Vision, Todd J.
Associate Professor
3155 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4479
tjv@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Computational genetics, genome evolution and the architecture of complex traits
READ MORE


Weakley, Alan S.
Adjunct Associate Professor; Director, UNC Herbarium
419 Coker Hall
(919) 619-1101
weakley@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Systematics, Floristics, Biogeography, Conservation Planning, Bioinformatics, Vegetation Classification and Mapping
READ MORE


Willett, Christopher S.
Research Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

2252 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-8663
willett4@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Molecular population and evolutionary genetics
READ MORE