Ecology is the study of how organisms interact with each other and their physical environment. Our group has strength in behavioral, conservation, community, and evolutionary ecology.

Explore the labs of Biology faculty who focus their research in ecology:

Bruno, John
Professor
340 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-1038
jbruno@unc.edu

Research interests: Marine and Climate Change Ecology
READ MORE


Hurlbert, Allen
Associate Professor
331 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-9930
hurlbert@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Biodiversity, Biogeography, Macroecology
READ MORE


Kingsolver, Joel G.
Kenan Distinguished Professor
108 Coker Hall
(919) 843-6291
jgking@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Environmental physiology; evolutionary ecology; population biology; climate change
READ MORE


Mitchell, Charles E.
Professor
411 Coker Hall
(919) 843-7745
mitchell@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Disease Ecology, Plant-Microbe Interactions, Community Ecology
READ MORE


Peet, Robert K.
Research Professor
413 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6942
peet@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Ecology, Plant Geography, EcoInformatics
READ MORE


Pfennig, David W.
Professor
320 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-0155
dpfennig@unc.edu

Research interests: Evolution, Ecology, and Developmental Biology
READ MORE


Pfennig, Karin
Professor
319 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-5590
kpfennig@unc.edu

Research interests: Ecology, Behavior, and Evolution
READ MORE


Shank, Elizabeth
Associate Professor
4157 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4459
eshank@unc.edu

Research interests: Chemically mediated interactions between microbes
READ MORE


Sockman, Keith W.
Associate Professor
228 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-1989

Research interests: Behavioral and Physiological Ecology
READ MORE


Tucker, Caroline
Assistant Professor
334B Wilson Hall
(919) 843-6378
carolinetucker@unc.edu

Research interests: Phylogenetic and functional diversity, species interactions and coexistence in communities, and intraspecific variation
READ MORE


Weakley, Alan S.
Adjunct Associate Professor; Director, UNC Herbarium
419 Coker Hall
(919) 619-1101
weakley@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Systematics, Floristics, Biogeography, Conservation Planning, Bioinformatics, Vegetation Classification and Mapping
READ MORE


White, Peter S.
Professor
406 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6939 (Biology)
peter.white@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Community Ecology, Conservation Biology, Biodiversity
READ MORE