Skip to main content

Ecology is the study of how organisms interact with each other and their physical environment. Our group has strength in behavioral, conservation, community, and evolutionary ecology.

Explore the labs of Biology faculty who focus their research in ecology:

Bruno, John
Professor
340 Wilson Hall

jbruno@unc.edu

Research interests: Marine and Climate Change Ecology
READ MORE


Hurlbert, Allen
Professor
331 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-9930
hurlbert@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Biodiversity, Biogeography, Macroecology
READ MORE


Kingsolver, Joel G.
Kenan Distinguished Professor
108 Coker Hall
(919) 843-6291
jgking@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Environmental physiology; evolutionary ecology; population biology; climate change
READ MORE


McCoy, Sophie
Assistant Professor
334 Wilson Hall

sophie.mccoy@unc.edu

Research interests: Community Ecology, Microbial Ecology, Marine and Aquatic Systems
READ MORE


Mitchell, Charles E.
Professor
411 Coker Hall

mitchell@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Disease Ecology, Plant-Microbe Interactions, Community Ecology
READ MORE


Peet, Robert K.
Research Professor
413 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6942
peet@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Ecology, Plant Geography, EcoInformatics
READ MORE


Pfennig, David W.
Professor
320 Wilson Hall

dpfennig@unc.edu

Research interests: Evolution, Ecology, Developmental Biology
READ MORE


Pfennig, Karin
Professor
319 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-5590
kpfennig@unc.edu

Research interests: Ecology, Behavior, and Evolution
READ MORE


Sockman, Keith W.
Associate Professor
228 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-1989

Research interests: Behavioral and Physiological Ecology
READ MORE


Weakley, Alan S.
Adjunct Associate Professor; Director, UNC Herbarium
419 Coker Hall
(919) 619-1101
weakley@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Systematics, Floristics, Biogeography, Conservation Planning, Bioinformatics, Vegetation Classification and Mapping
READ MORE


White, Peter S.
Professor
406 Coker Hall

peter.white@unc.edu

Research interests: Plant Community Ecology, Conservation Biology, Biodiversity
READ MORE