Cell biologists are studying the inner workings of the cell from protein structure to dynamics and trafficking to how organs are formed. We use molecular genetics to manipulate proteins in cells and microscopy, mass spectrometry, mathematical modeling and other analytical platforms to understand cellular function.

Explore the labs of Biology faculty who focus their research in cell biology:

Bloom, Kerry S.
Chair of Biology
Thad L. Beyle Distinguished Professor

623 Fordham Hall
205 Coker Hall (Chair)
(919) 962-1182
kerry_bloom@unc.edu

Research interests: Molecular Biology; Chromosome and Spindle Dynamics
READ MORE


Dowen, Rob
Assistant Professor
321 Fordham Hall
858-736-6579
dowen@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Regulation of fat metabolism during development, aging, and disease
READ MORE


Duronio, Robert J.
Professor
Director of the Integrative Program for Biological and Genome Sciences

3350 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4568
duronio@med.unc.edu

Research interests: Epigenetic control of the cell cycle during animal development
READ MORE


Furey, Terry
Associate Professor
5022 Genetic Medicine Building
(919) 966-7033
tsfurey@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Genetics of gene regulation in complex traits; Computational genomics; Chromatin biology; Crohn's disease; Environmental toxicogenomics
READ MORE


Gladfelter, Amy
Associate Professor
516 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-7299
amyglad@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Cytoskeleton dynamics, biophysical cell biology, cytoplasm organization
READ MORE


Goldstein, Bob
James L. Peacock III Distinguished Professor
616 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-8575
bobg@unc.edu

Research interests: Cell Biology of Development, Evolution of Development, Tolerance of Extremes
READ MORE


Jones, Alan M.
Kenan Distinguished Professor
312 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6932
alan_jones@unc.edu

Research interests: Signal Perception and the Regulation of Growth and Development
READ MORE


Maddox, Amy Shaub
Associate Professor
408 Fordham Hall
919-843-3228
asm@unc.edu

Research interests: Cytoskeletal Dynamics and Cell Division
READ MORE


Matera, Gregory
Professor & Associate Chair of Biology
3352 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4567
matera@unc.edu

Research interests: RNA Processing: Biogenesis of Small Ribonucleoproteins in Health and Disease
READ MORE


McKay, Daniel J.
Assistant Professor, Biology Department and Genetics Department
3358 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-2064
dmckay1@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Developmental Genomics
READ MORE


Peifer, Mark
Michael Hooker Distinguished Professor
521 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-2271
peifer@unc.edu

Research interests: Cell adhesion, signal transduction, and cytoskeletal regulation in development and disease
READ MORE


Rogers, Steve
Associate Professor
422 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-7342
srogers@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Cell Biology of the Cytoskeleton, Cell Migration, and Morphogenesis
READ MORE


Salmon, Edward D.
Research Professor (Retired James Larkin and Iona Mae Ballou Distinguished Professor)
608 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-2265
tsalmon@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Microscopy, Microtubule Assembly, Microtubule Motors, and The Mechanism of Chromosome Movement
READ MORE


Shiau, Celia
Assistant Professor
4352 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-7010
shiauce@unc.edu

Research interests: Crosstalk between immune and nervous systems; macrophages and microglia; immune activation and inflammation; vertebrate development
READ MORE


Slep, Kevin
Associate Professor
402 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-4858
KSlep@bio.unc.edu

Research interests: Cytoskeletal Structure and Dynamics
READ MORE


Yeh, Elaine
Research Professor
603 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-2331
elaine_yeh@unc.edu

Research interests: Nuclear division in yeast: cell cycle control; microtubule motor proteins and the cytoskeleton.
READ MORE