Researchers in our department investigate the evolution and mechanisms of animal behavior. We use theoretical, observational, and experimental approaches in a variety of species, from crawling behavior in sea slugs to social communication in primates.

Explore the labs of Biology faculty who focus their research in neurobiology and animal behavior:

Burmeister, Sabrina
Associate Professor
2250 Genome Sciences Building
(919)-843-5105
sburmeister@unc.edu

Research interests: Neurobiology & behavior
READ MORE


Dickerson, Brad
Assistant Professor
Kenan Honors Fellow

2157 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-0703
bdicker@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Neuromechanics of gyroscopic sensing
READ MORE


Hige, Toshihide
Assistant Professor
3157 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4736
hige@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Neurophysiology and Behavior in Drosophila
READ MORE


Jones, Corbin
Professor
3159 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4443
cdjones@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Evolutionary Genetics and Genomics
READ MORE


Lohmann, Catherine
Teaching Assistant Professor
402 Coker Hall
(919) 962-3216
clohmann@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Behavior, Neuroscience, Sensory Biology, and Conservation of Marine Animals
READ MORE


Lohmann, Kenneth J.
Charles P. Postelle, Jr. Distinguished Professor
403 Coker Hall
(919) 843-4508
klohmann@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Behavior, Neuroscience, Sensory Ecology, and Conservation Biology of Marine Animals
READ MORE


Pfennig, David W.
Professor
320 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-0155
dpfennig@unc.edu

Research interests: Evolution, Ecology, and Developmental Biology
READ MORE


Pfennig, Karin
Professor
319 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-5590
kpfennig@unc.edu

Research interests: Ecology, Behavior, and Evolution
READ MORE


Servedio, Maria R.
Professor
404 Coker Hall
(919) 843-2692
servedio@email.unc.edu

Research interests: Evolutionary Theory
READ MORE


Shiau, Celia
Assistant Professor
4352 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-7010
shiauce@unc.edu

Research interests: Crosstalk between immune and nervous systems; macrophages and microglia; immune activation and inflammation; vertebrate development
READ MORE


Sockman, Keith W.
Associate Professor
228 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-1989

Research interests: Behavioral and Physiological Ecology
READ MORE


Taylor, Brian
Assistant Professor
Coker 301A
919-962-8508
bkt2@live.unc.edu

Research interests: Animal Magnetoreception and Navigation; Robotics; Bio-Engineering
READ MORE


Wiley, R. Haven
Professor (Emeritus)
323 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-1340
haven_wiley@unc.edu

Research interests: Animal Behavior, Communication, and Social Organization
READ MORE