Skip to main content

Copenhaver Lab published in PNAS!

November 15, 2022

The Copenhaver lab has published a collaborative paper in The Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences entitled “DNA polymerase epsilon binds histone H3.1-H4 and recruits MORC1 to mediate meiotic heterochromatin condensation” which enhances our understanding of how protein factors are recruited to chromosomes during plant reproduction to help reshape chromosome structure. The paper’s first author, Cong Wang, was co-advised by Drs. Copenhaver and Wang, and the second author, Jiyue Wang joined the Copenhaver lab as a postdoctoral associate.

Check it out here.

Kacy Gordon featured by UNC Research!

November 10, 2022

Congratulations to Kacy Gordon for being featured by UNC Research and for being awarded a nearly $2 million National Institutes of General Medical Sciences grant! The article states, “By investigating the behavior of stem cells in a microscopic worm, Kacy Gordon’s lab hopes to produce useful knowledge at larger scales of biological complexity.” Congratulations, Kacy! Check out the article here.

Undergraduate Amber Amparo wins Poster Award!

November 8, 2022

UNC Senior Carolina Scholar Amber Amparo won a Best Poster in Cancer Biology award at the National Diversity in STEM SACNAS Conference for her poster, “Defining the Role of Mitochondrial Dynamics in Regulating PDAC Cell Sensitivity to KRAS and ERK Inhibition” reporting her research with Pharmacology Professor Dr. Channing Der and postdoc Dr. Kristina Drizyte-Miller. Amber is a double major in Biology and Biostatistics with a minor in Chemistry. Congratulations Amber, we are proud of you!

Amy Gladfelter featured in Nature!

November 3, 2022

Congratulations to Amy Gladfelter for being quoted in an article in Nature. The article, “The shape-shifting blobs that shook up cell biology,” goes into how researchers are investigating the droplets found inside cells. Be sure to read the article here!

John Bruno featured in NC Health News!

November 1, 2022

John Bruno has been featured in the NC Health News article, “Socially sustainable seafood requires diligence, scrutiny,” which focuses on mislabeling in the seafood industry. The article goes into detail about Bruno’s undergraduate course designed to investigate mislabeling in the food industry. Check out the article here.

Joel Kingsolver’s Lab featured in Photo Essay!

October 26, 2022

Joel Kingsolver’s lab has been featured in a photo essay on UNC’s Endeavors! The essay displays macro-photographic images of the lab’s research and highlights their outreach efforts. Be sure to check it out here.

Congrats to the Fall 2022 Phi Beta Kappa Inductees!

October 25, 2022

Congratulations to the following Phi Beta Kappa inductees for the Fall of 2022:

Blair Thomas Blakeney
Christopher Nash Bowman
Meredith Leigh Bowman
Bryn Copenhaver
Eduardo de la Parra Polina
Sharidan Lee Farris
Aakanksha Gundu
Mansi Gupta
Benjamin Andrew Hamer
Meagan Harrington
Gavin Connor Hughes
Luke Yuen Johnson
Sophia Annabelle Johnson
Jennifer Ashton Judd
Paul Christopher Karre
Alexandra Holden Katz
Anirudh Raman Kompella
Michael Chen Li
Brianna Elizabeth Lucero
James Mcguire Metts
Madison Ann Milotte
Dean Avery Pearce
Harrison Nash Philbeck
Cameron Alexander Pinkelton
Shaili Rathod
Ayden L Ring
Evan Drew Rosenberg
Molly Ruebusch
Alyssa Jacqueline Schoff
Simcha Ravi Singh
Alicia Marie Spencer
Litao Tu
Soorya None Vasan
Hayden Vaughn
Nicholas Anthony Yapundich

To learn more about Phi Beta Kappa, visit their website.

John Bruno featured during PLOS Open Access Week’s theme “Open For Climate Justice”

October 25, 2022

Listen as PLOS Climate Editor-in-Chief Emma Archer and Executive Editor Jamie Males discuss climate change research publishing with author John Bruno, marine ecologist and Professor in the Department of Biology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in their recorded podcast “Breaking Down Barriers in Climate Change Research Publishing!”

Jill Dowen Promoted to Associate Professor with Tenure

October 20, 2022

Congratulations to Jill Dowen, Associate Professor in the Biochemistry & Biophysics Department and the Biology Department, who received tenure as a UNC faculty effective January 1, 2023.

Dr. Dowen received her BS from the University of Iowa, her PhD from the University of California San Diego, and she completed her postdoctoral studies at the Whitehead Institute at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Dr. Dowen joined UNC in 2016 as a faculty member in the Biochemistry and Biophysics Department and the Biology Department. Dr. Dowen is also a member of the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center and the Integrative Program for Biological and Genome Sciences.

Research in her lab focuses on the link between genome organization and transcriptional control of cellular identity. Her lab is particularly interested in the proteins, DNA sequences, and molecular processes that link three-dimensional organization of the genome and spatiotemporal gene expression. The Dowen lab applies cutting-edge technologies such as CRISPR/Cas9 genome editing and high throughput sequencing-based chromosome conformation capture assays to interrogate the function of long-range DNA interactions on chromosomes during health and disease.

Since coming to UNC, Dr. Dowen has assembled and trained a very active lab of postdoctoral fellows, graduate students, and undergraduate researchers. She’s received funding from the NIH and a Sidney Kimmel Scholar Award. She is a Reviewing Editor for Frontiers in Molecular Biosciences Genome Organization and Dynamics and is the Well-being Liaison for Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics.

Learn more at:

Copenhaver Lab published in PNAS!

October 19, 2022

The Copenhaver lab has published a collaborative paper in The Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences entitled “DNA polymerase epsilon interacts with SUVH2/9 to repress the expression of genes associated with meiotic DSB hotspot in Arabidopsis” which shows that genes associated with DNA double strand breaks (DSBs) are silenced during meiosis by a subunit of DNA polymerase epsilon (POL2A) acting together with a SET domain protein (SUVH9). This work advances our understanding of how epigenetic mechanisms influence plant reproductive biology. The first author of the paper, Cong Wang, was co-advised by Drs. Copenhaver and Wang, and the second author, Jiyue Wang joined the Copenhaver lab as a postdoctoral associate.