Skip Navigation

Documentation of Soil Attributes is Critical for Understanding Vegetation (Robert Peet Lab)

Text:
Increase font size
Decrease font size

Research Strengths

Plant Biology

We have an active and diverse group that studies features specific to plants or that uses plant models to address questions of broad interest, such as host-pathogen interactions, signal transduction, development, and genomics.

Faculty MemberContact InfoResearch Description
Gregory P. Copenhaver
Professor; Director of Graduate Studies (MCDB)
4161 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4457
gcopenhaver at bio.unc.edu
Genetics
Jeff Dangl
HHMI Investigator and John N. Couch Professor
4260 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4469
dangl@email.unc.edu
Plant and Pathogen Genetics, Genomics and Cell Biology, Plant Disease Resistance and Plant Metagenomics
Sarah R. Grant
Research Associate Professor
4258 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4470
sgrant@email.unc.edu
The suite of pathogenicity factors in Pseudomonas syringae
Alan M. Jones
Kenan Distinguished Professor
312 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6932
alan_jones@unc.edu
Signal Perception and the Regulation of Growth and Development
Joseph Kieber
Kenan Distinguished Professor
4163 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4455
jkieber@bio.unc.edu
Molecular Genetic Analysis of Ethylene and Cytokinin Action in Arabidopsis
Ann G. Matthysse
Professor
304 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6941
ann_matthysse@unc.edu
Initial Interactions Between Pathogenic Bacteria and Plant Surfaces
Charles E. Mitchell
Professor
411 Coker Hall
(919) 843-7745
mitchell@bio.unc.edu
Disease Ecology, Plant-Microbe Interactions, Community Ecology
Zachary Nimchuk
Assistant Professor
4155 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4460
zackn@email.unc.edu
Plant developmental genetics and stem cell regulation
Robert K. Peet
Professor
413 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6942
peet@unc.edu
Plant Ecology, Plant Geography, EcoInformatics
Jason W. Reed
Associate Professor
305 Coker Hall
(919) 962-5640
jreed@email.unc.edu
Plant Signal Transduction and Development
Todd J. Vision
Associate Professor
3155 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4479
tjv@bio.unc.edu
Computational genetics, genome evolution and the architecture of complex traits
Alan S. Weakley
Adjunct Associate Professor; Director, UNC Herbarium
419 Coker Hall
(919) 619-1101
weakley@unc.edu
Plant Systematics, Floristics, Biogeography, Conservation Planning, Bioinformatics, Vegetation Classification and Mapping
Peter S. White
Professor
406 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6939 (Biology)
peter.white@unc.edu
Plant Community Ecology, Conservation Biology, Biodiversity