Skip Navigation

Coral Reef (Bruno Lab)

Text:
Increase font size
Decrease font size

Research Strengths

Organismal Biology

Organismal biologists seek to understand the remarkable diversity of life forms on Earth by analyzing organismal structure and function. We take an integrative approach to this research, combining analyses at levels ranging from molecules to whole organisms.

Faculty MemberContact InfoResearch Description
Sabrina Burmeister
Associate Professor
2250 Genome Sciences Building
(919)-843-5105
sburmeister [at] unc.edu
Neurobiology & behavior
Patricia G. Gensel
Professor
414 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6937
pgensel@bio.unc.edu
Paleobotany
Tyson L. Hedrick
Associate Professor
G40 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-0757
thedrick@email.unc.edu
Biomechanics and Animal Locomotion
William M. Kier
Professor
313B Wilson Hall (Lab)
(919) 962-5017 (Lab Office)
billkier@bio.unc.edu
Biomechanics of marine invertebrates and musculoskeletal systems
Joel G. Kingsolver
Kenan Distinguished Professor
334A Wilson Hall
(919) 843-6291
jgking@bio.unc.edu
Evolutionary and physiological ecology
Catherine Lohmann
Lecturer
402 Coker Hall
(919) 962-3216
clohmann@email.unc.edu
Behavior, Neuroscience, Sensory Biology, and Conservation of Marine Animals
Kenneth J. Lohmann
Charles P. Postelle, Jr. Distinguished Professor
403 Coker Hall
(919) 843-4508
klohmann@email.unc.edu
Behavior, Neuroscience, Sensory Ecology, and Conservation Biology of Marine Animals
Laura Miller
Associate Professor of Biology and Mathematics
G44A Wilson Hall
(919) 843-4557
lam9@unc.edu
Biological Fluid Dynamics
Marine Invertebrate Zoology
Mathematical Biology
Charles E. Mitchell
Professor
411 Coker Hall
(919) 843-7745
mitchell@bio.unc.edu
Disease Ecology, Plant-Microbe Interactions, Community Ecology
Keith W. Sockman
Associate Professor
2260 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-1989
kws@unc.edu
Behavioral and Physiological Ecology
Alan S. Weakley
Adjunct Associate Professor; Director, UNC Herbarium
419 Coker Hall
(919) 619-1101
weakley@unc.edu
Plant Systematics, Floristics, Biogeography, Conservation Planning, Bioinformatics, Vegetation Classification and Mapping
Peter S. White
Professor
406 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6939 (Biology)
peter.white@unc.edu
Plant Community Ecology, Conservation Biology, Biodiversity
Christopher S. Willett
Research Associate Professor
2252 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-8663
willett4@email.unc.edu
Molecular population and evolutionary genetics