Skip Navigation

Coral Reef (Bruno Lab)

Text:
Increase font size
Decrease font size

Research Strengths

Evolution

Evolution is heritable change in the characteristics of populations over time. Two major goals of evolutionary biology are to explain the incredible fit of organisms to their environment and the origins of diversity. To this end, we investigate the genetic and ecological mechanisms that shape adaptation with a strong focus on processes that contribute to the origins of species.

Faculty MemberContact InfoResearch Description
Christina Burch
Professor
3163 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4445
cburch@bio.unc.edu
Experimental Evolution of Viruses
Bob Goldstein
James L. Peacock III Distinguished Professor
616 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-8575
bobg@unc.edu
Cell Polarity, Morphogenesis, and Evolution of Development
Sarah R. Grant
Research Associate Professor
4258 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4470
sgrant@email.unc.edu
The suite of pathogenicity factors in Pseudomonas syringae
Tyson L. Hedrick
Associate Professor
G40 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-0757
thedrick@email.unc.edu
Biomechanics and Animal Locomotion
Corbin Jones
Professor
3159 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4443
cdjones@email.unc.edu
Evolutionary Genetics and Genomics
William M. Kier
Professor
313B Wilson Hall (Lab)
(919) 962-5017 (Lab Office)
billkier@bio.unc.edu
Biomechanics of marine invertebrates and musculoskeletal systems
Joel G. Kingsolver
Kenan Distinguished Professor
334A Wilson Hall
(919) 843-6291
jgking@bio.unc.edu
Evolutionary and physiological ecology
Christopher Martin
Assistant Professor
2256 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4841
chmartin@unc.edu
Evolution, Ecology, and Genomics
David W. Pfennig
Professor
320 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-6958
dpfennig [at] unc [dot] edu
Evolution, Ecology, and Developmental Biology
Karin Pfennig
Associate Professor & Associate Chair of Biology
319 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-5590
kpfennig@email.unc.edu
Ecology, Behavior, and Evolution
Maria R. Servedio
Professor
2258 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-2692
servedio@email.unc.edu
Evolutionary Theory
Todd J. Vision
Associate Professor
3155 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4479
tjv@bio.unc.edu
Computational genetics, genome evolution and the architecture of complex traits
Alan S. Weakley
Adjunct Associate Professor; Director, UNC Herbarium
419 Coker Hall
(919) 619-1101
weakley@unc.edu
Plant Systematics, Floristics, Biogeography, Conservation Planning, Bioinformatics, Vegetation Classification and Mapping
Christopher S. Willett
Research Associate Professor
2252 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-8663
willett4@email.unc.edu
Molecular population and evolutionary genetics