Skip Navigation

Recording Frog Advertisement Calls at Mason Farm Biological Reserve (Haven Wiley Lab)

Text:
Increase font size
Decrease font size

Research Strengths

Ecology

Ecology is the study of how organisms interact with each other and their physical environment. Our group has strength in behavioral, conservation, community, and evolutionary ecology.

Faculty MemberContact InfoResearch Description
John Bruno
Professor
340 Wilson Hall

jbruno@unc.edu
Marine and Climate Change Ecology
Patricia G. Gensel
Professor
414 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6937
pgensel@bio.unc.edu
Paleobotany
Allen Hurlbert
Associate Professor
331 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-9930
hurlbert@bio.unc.edu
Biodiversity, biogeography, and macroecology
Christopher Martin
Assistant Professor
2256 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4841
chmartin@unc.edu
Evolution, Ecology, and Genomics
Charles E. Mitchell
Professor
411 Coker Hall
(919) 843-7745
mitchell@bio.unc.edu
Disease Ecology, Plant-Microbe Interactions, Community Ecology
Robert K. Peet
Professor
413 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6942
peet@unc.edu
Plant Ecology, Plant Geography, EcoInformatics
David W. Pfennig
Professor
320 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-6958
dpfennig [at] unc [dot] edu
Evolution, Ecology, and Developmental Biology
Karin Pfennig
Professor & Associate Chair of Biology
319 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-5590
kpfennig@unc.edu
Ecology, Behavior, and Evolution
Elizabeth Shank
Assistant Professor
4157 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4459
eshank@unc.edu
Chemically mediated interactions between microbes
Keith W. Sockman
Associate Professor
2260 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-1989
kws@unc.edu
Behavioral and Physiological Ecology
Caroline Tucker
Assistant Professor
334B Wilson Hall
(919) 843-6378
carolinetucker@unc.edu
Community Ecology, Quantitative Ecology, Biodiversity
James Umbanhowar
Teaching Assistant Professor/Consultant
4252 Genome Sciences Building

jumbanho@email.unc.edu
Population and Community Ecology; Mathematical Biology
Alan S. Weakley
Adjunct Associate Professor; Director, UNC Herbarium
419 Coker Hall
(919) 619-1101
weakley@unc.edu
Plant Systematics, Floristics, Biogeography, Conservation Planning, Bioinformatics, Vegetation Classification and Mapping
Peter S. White
Professor
406 Coker Hall
(919) 962-6939 (Biology)
peter.white@unc.edu
Plant Community Ecology, Conservation Biology, Biodiversity