Skip Navigation

Hand-manipulated, Fluorescent Embryonic Cells from the Model Organism C. elegans (Bob Goldstein Lab)

Text:
Increase font size
Decrease font size

Research Strengths

Developmental Biology

Developmental biologists address the mechanisms through which cells acquire specialized functions to elicit complex body plans. These features are accomplished in part through cell proliferation, migration, and shape changes. Our department has a strong research program in these and other areas of developmental biology.

Faculty MemberContact InfoResearch Description
Shawn Ahmed
Professor
216 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-4780
shawn@med.unc.edu
Telomere replication and germ cell immortality
Victoria L. Bautch
Beverly Long Chapin Distinguished Professor and Chair of Biology
415 Fordham Hall
205 Coker Hall (Chair)
(919) 966-6797
bautch@med.unc.edu
Animal Models of Vascular Development and Endothelial Cell Biology
Frank Conlon
Professor
220 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-5500
frank_conlon@med.unc.edu
Developmental Genetics
Stephen Crews
Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics, Adjunct Professor of Biology
321 Fordham Hall
(919) 423-8236
steve_crews@unc.edu
Drosophila Nervous System Development; Gene Regulation
Robert J. Duronio
Professor; Director of the Integrative Program for Biological and Genome Sciences
3350 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4568
duronio@med.unc.edu
Developmental control of the cell cycle
Bob Goldstein
James L. Peacock III Distinguished Professor
616 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-8575
bobg@unc.edu
Cell Polarity, Morphogenesis, and Evolution of Development
Albert K. Harris
Professor
103 Wilson Hall
(919) 966-1230
akharris@bio.unc.edu
Cell Motility & Pattern Formation
Joseph Kieber
Kenan Distinguished Professor
4163 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4455
jkieber@bio.unc.edu
Molecular Genetic Analysis of Ethylene and Cytokinin Action in Arabidopsis
Amy Shaub Maddox
Assistant Professor
408 Fordham Hall
919-843-3228
asm@unc.edu
Cytoskeletal Dynamics and Cell Division
William F. Marzluff
William Rand Kenan Professor
208 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-2140
marzluff@med.unc.edu
Regulation of RNA Metabolism in Animal Cells
Gregory Matera
Professor & Associate Chair of Biology
3352 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4567
matera@unc.edu
RNA Processing: Biogenesis of Small Ribonucleoproteins in Health and Disease
Daniel J. McKay
Assistant Professor, Biology Department and Genetics Department
3358 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-2064
dmckay1@email.unc.edu
Developmental Genomics
Zachary Nimchuk
Assistant Professor
4155 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4460
zackn@email.unc.edu
Plant developmental genetics and stem cell regulation
Mark Peifer
Michael Hooker Distinguished Professor
521 Fordham Hall
(919) 962-2271
peifer@unc.edu
Cell adhesion, signal transduction, and cytoskeletal regulation in development and disease
Jason W. Reed
Associate Professor
305 Coker Hall
(919) 962-5640
jreed@email.unc.edu
Plant Signal Transduction and Development
Steve Rogers
Associate Professor
422 Fordham Hall
(919) 843-7342
srogers@bio.unc.edu
Cell Biology of the Cytoskeleton, Cell Migration, and Morphogenesis
Elizabeth Shank
Assistant Professor
4157 Genome Sciences Building
919-962-4459
eshank@unc.edu
Chemically mediated interactions between microbes
Celia Shiau
Assistant Professor
4352 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-7010
shiauce@unc.edu
Crosstalk between immune and nervous systems; macrophages and microglia; immune activation and inflammation; vertebrate development