Skip Navigation

Scarlet Kingsnake (a Coral Snake Mimic), North Carolina Sandhills (David Pfennig Lab)

Text:
Increase font size
Decrease font size

Research Strengths

Animal Behavior

Researchers in our department investigate the evolution and mechanisms of animal behavior. We use theoretical, observational, and experimental approaches in a variety of species, from crawling behavior in sea slugs to social communication in primates.

Faculty MemberContact InfoResearch Description
Sabrina Burmeister
Associate Professor
2250 Genome Sciences Building
(919)-843-5105
sburmeister [at] unc.edu
Neurobiology & behavior
Corbin Jones
Professor
3159 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-4443
cdjones@email.unc.edu
Evolutionary Genetics and Genomics
Catherine Lohmann
Lecturer
402 Coker Hall
(919) 962-3216
clohmann@email.unc.edu
Behavior, Neuroscience, Sensory Biology, and Conservation of Marine Animals
Kenneth J. Lohmann
Charles P. Postelle, Jr. Distinguished Professor
403 Coker Hall
(919) 843-4508
klohmann@email.unc.edu
Behavior, Neuroscience, Sensory Ecology, and Conservation Biology of Marine Animals
David W. Pfennig
Professor
320 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-6958
dpfennig [at] unc [dot] edu
Evolution, Ecology, and Developmental Biology
Karin Pfennig
Associate Professor & Associate Chair of Biology
319 Wilson Hall
(919) 843-5590
kpfennig@email.unc.edu
Ecology, Behavior, and Evolution
Maria R. Servedio
Professor
2258 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-2692
servedio@email.unc.edu
Evolutionary Theory
Celia Shiau
Assistant Professor
4352 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 962-7010
shiauce@unc.edu
Crosstalk between immune and nervous systems; macrophages and microglia; immune activation and inflammation; vertebrate development
Keith W. Sockman
Associate Professor
2260 Genome Sciences Building
(919) 843-1989
kws@unc.edu
Behavioral and Physiological Ecology
R. Haven Wiley
Professor (Emeritus)
323 Wilson Hall
(919) 962-1340
haven_wiley@unc.edu
Animal Behavior, Communication, and Social Organization